Owls are raptors, birds of prey, in the same family as hawks and eagles.

Owls are carnivores, meat-eaters, and they swallow their prey whole.

Owls eat mammals, especially rodents, reptiles, insects and other birds.

Owls are nocturnal, meaning that they are active at night.

There are over 200 different types of owls.

Owls live everywhere in the world except Antarctica.

The smallest owl is the Elf Owl, which is 4.5 inches tall.

The largest owl is the Eurasian Eagle Owl, which is 28 inches tall.

Owls have special wings that allow them to fly without making a sound.

The name of the owl comes from Old English, “ule,” which means “to howl.”

You can build a backyard nest box that will attract an owl.

Check out our list of 19 The Cutest Owls You Will Love!